reading at the moment…

I love to read, and I love books. Enough said, let’s move on to the rest of the post.

Right now on my reading list are:

  • The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks
  • The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party by Alexander McCall Smith
  • The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection by Alexander McCall Smith
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
  • Inferno by Dan Brown

 

The interest in K.Hosseini’s books came with my accidental stumbling upon A Thousand Splendid Suns, and though Kite Runner came first (and even the movie is available now), it is still on my reading list. Something is stopping me from starting the book: the fear that it would come to an end, that is.

The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, on the other hand, was another wonderful accident which happened many years back through the selected, condensed edition of stories released by Readers’ Digest occasionally. I do have to admit, I discovered many fantastic authors and splendid books through RD. For that, I owe them my heartfelt gratitude forever.

Today, I have most of the titles under the No.1 Ladies Detective Agency series (actually I have all of them except The Double Comfort Safari Club and The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon; they are not available yet at my local bookstore) and I enjoy looking at them all in a row, beautifully illustrated with vibrant colours and pictures, such a sight to behold. And yes, I read them again and again and again…

Finished last weekend was what I would call the longest thriller I have ever read. It took me 2 whole painful weeks to finish reading them. And I wasn’t even trying to slow down the pace.

The Stonehenge Legacy by Sam Christer is the classic, guaranteed thriller if you are fan of Dan Brown and the likes. Though I did like the original idea of the story, there is just too much of distraction in the plot, and way too many characters gnawing at each other, fighting to grab your attention. And then there is this whole cult-religion-legacy-astronomy ideas all jumbled up as well, and in the middle of this plot is our protagonist, Gideon Chase. Anyway I would give a 6/10 for the read, just be careful not to get distracted while reading; that’s exactly what happened to me!!  🙂

Moving on with Nicholas Sparks…

6 thoughts on “reading at the moment…

  1. Hello. Based on your previous posts, I’m assuming that you’re Malaysian. Cool, I am too. I’m an avid reader, that’s how I discovered your blog. I maintain a blog for a book rental store in Subang Jaya. I’m not sure if SS Readers Corner has the Alexander McCall Smith books that you want but do check out my blog.You can find details of the store there.
    I haven’t read any of Alexander McCall Smith’s books but will try them soon.

    • hi there..yup, M’sian.
      i get my books from Amcorp mall usually..do try A.M Smith, esp the No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, it’s a darling of a collection.
      thanks for the bookstore details, will sure check them out.

      • yes BookXcess..just went there last week in fact, to get my book-fix.sometimes u can get second hand books from the weekend bazaar vendors as well..i love weekend bazaar there. bookfest in KLCC, was going thru the page just now, thru ur link of course..just not sure if would want to enter KL at this point, esp in the weekend..but then again, who knows, i might just wakeup and start walking towards KLCC…

      • Oo0o0o I didn’t know about second hand books at the bazaar. What’s your greatest finds?

        Yes KL traffic is horrible but I’m hoping there’ll be somewhat zombieland during Raya. I celebrate raya in PJ (yes, no balik kampung) so I might check it out on 1st or 2nd day of raya. 🙂

  2. Yeah I have major hauls at amcorp. Some of the gems I managed to pick so far:
    The god of small things by arundhati roy
    Thick and old volumes of bedtime/fairytales from around the world ( REAL GEM)
    Titles frm james patterson, sidney sheldon, john grisham, dan brown- countless of them
    So check them out in weekends, really awesome.

Leave a Reply

