Festival of Lights…

September is done. Now it’s time for spring cleaning; I will be celebrating the festival of lights in the weeks to come, and I am getting all the reminders in the world to prep up my living space.

The flour price went up, naturally, especially in the Indian shops, along with the spices, and other accessories.

The town is full of colors- dresses, lights, lanterns (yes, that’s right), and an assortment of other colorful items fit in a household.

Some people are even done with the preliminary shopping, and busily planning up for the next visit to the shops. Some has started with the traditional cookies and some are placing orders from others.

And everyone is asking for my update.

I haven’t started anything. Like seriously, tomorrow will be officially October, and my house is still a mess.

The curtains have not been changed, the last batch of laundry is still on my sofa, and I haven’t decided on the dresses for the occasion too.

Cookies and traditional cakes? Do not even go there.

I still remember, there was a time when all the above was a conversation restricted for my parents and not for us children. It is an ADULT ONLY territory and we children are not to think of them.

We are only allowed to think of the scrumptious batches of cookies that are about to be made, what extra item can we demand this year, and what is the hottest fashion at the moment.

And then, of course, we are allowed to discuss with friends on whose house gets visited first, and whose place will be the last on that day.

Then, we compare with each other, how many sets of shoes we got this year, and the lucky ones might get to go for a short trip as well during the festive season. The rest of us shall listen with envy.

That was a long time ago.

As the thought of October slipped into my mind, I realized it is the time of the year when every other day is a cookie day, every weekend will be a trip to the textile shop or to the neighborhood’s tailor. Spices and curry powders are to be given to the mill, only they can grind them to perfection. Meats are to be ordered beforehand to avoid frustration and disappointment.

Late nights are welcomed, as they are signs of our commitment to the festival. All the long hours are labor of love, to the festival, but most importantly, to the family.

As I wonder upon these thoughts, I realized the importance and meaning of the entire buzz towards the day.

Yes, it is hectic.

Yes, it is tiring.

Yes, it could be expensive, depending on what the festive means to you.

But are they all worth the occasion?

Yes. It is not only an occasion, but a celebration of life. With your loved ones. A sign of tradition and legacy you inherit, and pass on, to the next generation.

So I may not be the perfect wife who prepares cookies every other night. Heck, I don’t even know how the traditional cakes are made. No, the visit to the tailor is still pending. The textiles shops have invited us with their greeting cards, and we are yet to visit them.

But the curtains will change, and the lights will be up. I shall make the cookies, or I might burn them. So I will place an order with a friend.

The meats and spices will be ready for marinade.

I shall plan a theme color for the family to wear as well.

The garden will need a trim, and the backyard will need some scrubbing.

The fish tank needs to go! (Husband is not reading this J)

Who knows, I might even get some simple, safe firecrackers as well, and hide them in the cupboard.

The tradition and legacy shall continue.

Leave a Reply

