Not my circus, not my monkeys…

Every time you feel yourself being pulled into other people’s nonsense, repeat this: not my circus, not my monkeys.

I came across this (it was written there as Polish) proverb during a recent visit to the clinic. How profound it was, and timely too. I couldn’t help but to stare at the statement for a very long time. It was too real to the point of crazy, if I make any sense. I mean, how many times I have been in that kind of situation where it’s not my d*mn business but I’m involved anyway??

Indeed, we are always pulled into someone else’s problem all the time. Most of the times, we can’t avoid them as they come in the form of friends, family and colleagues. Often, we get entangled in their problem as well, influenced by their mood and decisions, and then, we become one of them.

But at the end of the day, we feel lousy, and tired and full of negativity. Then we wonder why this thing happened at the first place. Regret and all kinds of nasty feelings follow.

Truth be told, this happens to me (and everyone) all the time. I always get dragged into all sorts of problems and dilemmas, though most of the time I play the role of a listener, it is hard not to feel and stay unbiased in some cases. As much as I try to stay focused and objective, opinions and assumptions do triumph, sometimes. Often, this can lead to further unnecessary resentments and in some cases, confrontations. I know, I know, been there, done that.

As I firmly believe that everything we do today must result and help us to become a better person tomorrow, I feel deeply for this simple sentence. I have nailed this message straight to my heart and brain, and shall gladly practice this attitude from now on.

…not my circus, not my monkeys.

Anyone there been smacked with something crazy like this before? Please share.

Leave a Reply

